top of page
Search

Zach LaVine Rumors seem different this Time

Updated: Mar 13

I, like many Bulls fans, am at wits end with this form of the Chicago Bulls. After the lackluster 4-7 start to the year, Sham’s shook the Bulls community with a tweet stating, “NBA teams are probing the availability of Bulls two-time All-Star Zach LaVine and there is increased openness from both sides about exploring a trade, sources say.” The preceding tweet rattled me to my core. I cannot be rational

about the Bulls, I truly convince myself every year that the 7th title will be brought home to Chicago. I am the definition of a meathead for this team. In true meathead fashion I went to the basketball group chat and claimed it was Joever. (Sorry to get political) I was sure the Bulls were going to blow it up. Artūras Karnišovas would be in charge and we would be well on our way to another half assed rebuild for the next 5 years. He would trade Zach for a bunch of vets and try to build the team around Demar. Then, the man who keeps the lights on, Big Bossman Marcos Hernandez, cooled my jets a bit. He reminded me that it’s the same headline we’ve seen for the last 18 months. Thanks boss, I promise to write more blogs going forward and

earn my paycheck! I was quickly distracted by the nightly soap opera that is the NBA. Seeing twitter blow up as Draymond Green choked Rudy Gobert within an inch of his life made things feel right. I slept cozy knowing that all was right in the NBA, and Zach would speak to the media today clearing up any misconception and I would be able to go along thinking somehow this team is going to make a run like they did in the first 34 games of the 2021 season.


Alas, I woke up. Zach spoke to the media, and it felt different. He was quoted saying, "I don’t take anything for granted. My time here has been nothing but wonderful. I’ve grown up here. I’ve raised a family here. Had some great memories. Hopefully, people understand that, how much I care about Chicago." Has been, raised a family, great memories… Lot’s of past tense in that loaded quote. There was a whole mess of other comments circulating twitter from his meeting with the media today, and I won’t bore you with breaking them all down. The fact of the matter is, Zach isn’t denying them or beating around the bush like he usually does. Something feels different, and it seems like Zach LaVine's time in Chicago is coming to an end. As someone who absolutely despised the Jimmy Butler trade, LaVine’s growth over the years made that pain a little less. He gave us some awesome moments in the last 7 years and grew into a top tier ball player and elite offensive playmaker. It is going to be sad to see him go and I hope he goes somewhere where he can compete and thrive. Hopefully AK has the balls to completely blow up the team and trade Demar as well, try and go after some young talent with high upside. Similar to what the Pacers did when they traded Domantas Sabonis for Tyrese Haliburton. Even if they don’t, I will probably convince myself we can make a run with Demar and a core of veteran shooters. The life of a meathead, rinse, wash repeat.


But hey, Maybe I am wrong.


👀🔴 Bulls Meathead


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2021 by Current Obsessions. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page